Sunday, January 9, 2011

Leos Janacek String Quartet with Viola d'amore

Of the composers that are famous by his String Quartet one is Leos Janacek (1854-1928) . He composed two quartets, the first née "Kreutzer Sonata"  then the second, the even more famous and romantic née "Intimate Letters". I've been listening to these quartets for so long, but only the recent release of Mandelring Quartett's  that I learn something even more exciting.

The Mandelring Quartett's CD of Janacek quartet, included the tracks of the second quartet played with Viola d'amore (instead of viola), an instrument of viola but with extra strings (make it a total of 7 strings). From the reading it is how the piece originally supposed to be playing, as intended by the composer. Interpretation, this is a refreshing version and quickly be a favorite. Released on Audite Label :


String Quartet No.1 "Kreutzer Sonata"
1. Adagio - Con moto
2. Con moto
3. Con moto - Vivo - Andante
4. Con moto

String Quartet No.2 "Intimate Letters" (viola)
5. Andante
6. Adagio
7. Moderato
8. Allegro

String Quartet No.2 "Intimate Letters" (viola d'amore)
9. Andante
10. Adagio
11. Moderato
12. Allegro

No comments:

Post a Comment